The public gets to vote on their most-cherished artist representing one of these categories.



[av_gallery ids=’2840,2841,2842,2843,2844,2845,2846,2847,2848′ style=’big_thumb’ preview_size=’portfolio’ crop_big_preview_thumbnail=’avia-gallery-big-crop-thumb’ thumb_size=’portfolio’ columns=’5′ imagelink=’lightbox’ lazyload=’avia_lazyload’]

AFRIMA 2014 Nominees List

Africa music’s big names make AFRIMA 2014 Nominees’ List

Mafikizolo, Davido, Amr Diab, Diamond Platnumz, Fally Ipupa, Uhuru, and others make AFRIMA 2014 nominees list

The five regions of Africa are in public competition to garner votes of their respective music industry fans for the 2014 All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA, to be held at The Landmark Convention Centre, off Ligali Ayorinde, Oniru Victoria Island Lagos Nigeria on Sunday, 9th November at 19:00 hours.

Although popular names in the continental music industry showed up on the highly-anticipated Nominees’ List of the awards project that is rewarding excellence by budding and established music professionals as well as journalists, the nominations of a generous number of emerging African artistes in many award categories threw more excitement into the unveiling event witnessed by local and international press as well as critical stakeholders in the music industry.

Among the well-known African music names on the nominees list are: Mafikizolo (South Africa) 6 nominations, Davido (Nigeria) 6 nominations, Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) 2 nominations, Amr Diab (Egypt) 2 nominations, Zahara (South Africa) 3 nominations, Angelique Kidjo (Benin Republic) 2 nominations, Fally Ipupa (DRC) 1 nomination, Sakordie (Ghana) 1 nomination, Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) 2 nominations, Uhuru (South Africa) 5 nominations and Mi Casa (South Africa) 4 nominations. Leading the budding music acts on AFRIMA Nominees’ List is: TemiDollFace (Nigeria) 4 nominations, others are Wiyaala (Ghana) 3 nominations; Patoranking (Nigeria) 2 nominations; Davina Green (Zimbabwe) 1 nomination and Noura Mint Seymale (Mauritania) 2 nominations, among others.

Heavyweight African music producer, Don Jazzy (Nigeria) made the Africa Producer of the Year category for the song ‘Eminado’ alongside top contenders: Robbie Malinga & Mojela Thebe (South Africa) for ‘Impilo’; Oskido and Shizzi (Nigeria) for ‘Tchelete’; Mikky Me (Nigeria) ‘Down’ and Del’B (Nigeria) for ‘Pull Over’.

Giving details into the criteria by which the nominees list emerged, Matlou Tsotetsi explained that the jury panel adhered strictly to the entry submission requirements while being guided by AFRIMA’s core values of FACE IT –Fairness, Authenticity, Creativity, Excellence, Integrity and Transparency. “The adjudication panel of jurors consisting of experienced names in the continental and global music industry were in Lagos in July to evaluate the submitted works. The entries which made the laid down criteria and qualified on merit were shortlisted based on their scores and this was sent to our Kenya-based auditors who then tabulated these scores. The result is what we are presenting today”, Ms. Tsotetsi stated.

While 30 of the 33 award categories will be open for voting by the public and AFRIMA Academy of Voters, Mike Dada revealed that recipients of the AFRIMA Legend Award and the Africa Entertainment/Music Journalist Award will be decided by the International Committee of AFRIMA and announced at the main awards ceremony on Sunday, November 9, 2014.

AFRIMA voting began online on Tuesday, September 30. there’s still time to register and vote. AFRIMA encourage the public, fans and followers of African music to visit the AFRIMA website, , to view the nominees in the 30 categories of the award and vote for their favourite artiste (s).

How does one vote:

  1. Voting can be done in any part of the world on
  2. There is no time (hours/minutes) restriction to voting; 24 hours per day.
  3. Voting is not restricted to any age group, gender or nationality.
  4. Voters are eligible to 32 votes throughout the voting process.
  5. Voters are permitted to vote for more than one artiste in each of the awards categories.
  6. Multiple voting is not permitted as voters are only allowed to vote once for an artiste in each of the awards categories throughout the voting process.
  7. Voting ENDS on Tuesday, 3rd November at 11:59PM WAT

For the 2014 edition, the award project opened entries on May 15 and closed the submission of entries on July 21 in the process receiving a staggering total of 2,000 plus works for assessment submitted by African music industry artistes, professionals and journalists.

The AFRIMA Jury, made up of seasoned African industry practitioners, were in Lagos, Nigeria, between July 31 to August 6 for the week-long adjudication of entries from artistes, songwriters, video directors, producers as well as journalists. In addition to Oscar Kidjo, the other jury members include: Kawesa Richard (Uganda) Eastern Africa; Tabu Osusa (Kenya) Eastern Africa; Laolu Akintobi (Nigeria) Western Africa; Robert Esong Ekukole (Cameroon), Central Africa; Kiki Toure (Equatorial Guinea) Central Africa; Delani Makhalima (Zimababwe) Southern Africa; Chris Syren (South Africa) Southern Africa; Angela Martins African Union Commission; Rab Bakari (USA) Diaspora and Rita Ray (UK), Diaspora. The result of the Jury’s work and the thorough collation by AFRIMA’s Kenya-based internal auditors has produced the AFRIMA 2014 Nominees’ List.

Nominees are vying for the coveted AFRIMA trophy in 33 categories divided into the regional and continental categories and including the AFRIMA Legend Award –a honour for a great African who has contributed immensely to the advancement of African music, the creative sector in general and impacted on the positive image of the continent and its global reckoning.

The CONTINENTAL award categories are:

Best Male Artiste – Inspirational Music

Best Female Artiste – Inspirational Music,

Best Inspirational Music Group

Best Traditional African Artiste

Best African Contemporary Artiste

Most Promising African Artiste

Revelation of the Year

Producer of the Year

Artiste of the Year

Song of the Year

Video of the Year

Songwriter of the Year

Album of the Year

R ‘n’ B Song of the Year

Pop Song of the Year

Rap Song of the Year

Collaboration of the Year

Best African Ragga/Reggae/Dancehall Song

Best African Group

Music/Entertainment Journalist of the Year and AFRIMA Legend Award.


REGIONAL categories are:

Best Male Artiste Eastern Africa

Best Female Artiste Eastern Africa

Best Male Artiste Central Africa

Best Female Artiste Central Africa

Best Male Artiste Southern Africa

Best Female Artiste Southern Africa

Best Male Artiste Northern Africa

Best Female Artiste Northern Africa

Best Male Artiste Western Africa

Best Female Artiste Western Africa

In partnership with the African Union Commission, All Africa Music Awards promises to be a premium star-studded event on November 9, preceded by the AFRIMA Music Village between November 4 and 7, a four-day festival style open concert of non-stop music, fanfare and exhibition from countries in Africa and performances by African artistes. There will also be an African Music Summit, November 6 to 7, themed “Reviving the Business of Music in Africa”. The two-day conference will be a platform for the music industry stakeholders to engage and deliberate on how the industry can be nurtured and be a major contributor to national and continental economies.



Contributed by RAB BAKARI